CSL faculty member elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences


Lois Yoksoulian, Illinois News Bureau

CSL faculty member Sarita V. Adve is one of two University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign faculty to have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the

Sarita Adve teaching.
Sarita Adve teaching.

oldest honor societies in the nation.

They are among 276 new members, including artists, scholars, scientists and leaders in the public, nonprofit and private sectors to be elected to the academy this year.

Adve is the Richard T. Cheng Professor of Computer Science at the U. of I and an Information Trust Institute researcher. Her primary research interest is at the computer hardware-software interface and includes computer architecture, programming languages, operating systems and applications. She co-developed the memory consistency models for the C++ and Java programming languages and also is known for her contributions to cache coherence, heterogeneous computing and hardware reliability.

She earned a Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Wisconsin, Madison in 1993 and the B.Tech. degree in electrical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay in 1987. She is a fellow of the Association for Computer Machinery and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. She received the 2018 ACM/IEEE-CS Ken Kennedy award, which recognizes substantial contributions to programmability and productivity in computing; the 2020 campus award for excellence in graduate student mentoring; and was recognized by the 2020 Computing Research Association’s distinguished service award for co-founding the CARES movement to address harassment and discrimination in computer science conferences.

In addition to Adve, Philip Phillips from the physics department has also been elected to the academy. The full story featuring both honorees can be read here.

“The members of the class of 2020 have excelled in laboratories and lecture halls, they have amazed on concert stages and in surgical suites, and they have led in boardrooms and courtrooms,” said academy President David W. Oxtoby. “With today’s election announcement, these new members are united by a place in history and by an opportunity to shape the future through the academy’s work to advance the public good.”