Four CSL faculty members named IEEE Fellows


Four CSL faculty members have been named Fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE): Olgica Milenkovic, Naira HovakimyanMarco Caccamo, and Andrew G Alleyne. Of the five University of Illinois faculty to be elevated this year, four are CSL professors. Hovakimyan and Milenkovic are two of 35 women elevated this year, a record number for the organization.

The grade of Fellow is conferred upon those with an outstanding record of accomplishments in IEEE fields of interest. Less than 0.1% of voting members are selected annually for this member grade elevation.

Milenkovic, professor of electrical and computer engineering and affiliate of the Beckman Institute, was honored "for contributions to genomic data compression." Her research focuses on big data compression and practical employment of DNA-based data storage. In 2015, she attracted one of the inaugural Big Data to Knowledge (BD2K) Awards from the National Institute of Health (NIH) in the amount of $1.3M. Her work has received wide-spread recognition, including media outlets like Scientific American.

Hovakimyan, professor of mechanical science and engineering and affiliate of ECE, AE, and the Beckman Institute, was named “for contributions to control with applications to aerospace and robotic systems.” Hovakimyan is a leader at the forefront of the field of robust adaptive control systems, networks of autonomous systems, and game theory applications regarding safety-critical systems in various engineering fields. This year, she was also named an AIAA Fellow.

Caccamo, professor of computer science and ECE affiliate, is the principal investigator at the Real Time and Embedded System LaboratoryHis research focuses on real-time operating systems, scheduling, and networks, with an emphasis on avionics and automotive systems. He was honored for “for contributions to the theory and applications of hard real-time multicore computing,”

Allyene, professor of mechanical science and engineering and ECE affiliate, was recognized “for contributions to the control of thermal management systems.” He is also the principal investigator of the $18.5 million NSF Engineering Research Center for Power Optimization of Electro-Thermal Systems (POETS), which is tackling the thermal and electrical challenges surrounding mobile electronics and vehicle design as a single system. He was also recognized by the Society of Women Engineers (SWE) with the Advocating Women in Engineering Award.

IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional society and publishes 30 percent of the world’s literature in electrical and electronics engineering and computer science.